Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

IR Proximity sensor problem

Posted by PvtTUX 
IR Proximity sensor problem
March 06, 2016 06:05AM
Hi folks, I'm new to this 3d printing and after building and successfully printing several parts without much problem I seem to of hit my first one.

The proximity sensor seems to be under reading values all of a sudden, I can't seem to get it to read that magic 600 anymore its like its very weak.

It does show its max value with a bit of paper up against it but there is no way I'm getting that 600 value I need for calibration.

The G31 used to read G31 Z3.5 P597 now it's reading G31 Z3.5 P136.

I've double checked all the wiring and made sure the probe command is being read from the SD card, checked the voltages from the duet and at the sensor, I've also used the M558 P1 which worked but the value never really changed.

So the question is do these IR probes fail like this or should I be doing something else ?

Should say I'm on stock firmware 1.09 (2015-04-21)

Thanks for reading smiling smiley
Re: IR Proximity sensor problem
March 06, 2016 06:54AM
The amount of IR Light hitting/reflecting into the sensor is too low when you have a low reading of P136.
I have the suggested white labels in each corner and upon the end stop so that the sensor gets enough reflected light.

Also check that the quick-set nozzles are correctly set height wise;
As it could be that the nozzles have dropped, so hit the bed first and the sensor is higher than it was.

My G31 setting is G31 Z1.70 P609 I would think that 3.5mm would a bit too high and having a lower value would be better.
I had similar problems getting the correct z-height when printing and I also found that the cooling block was upside down

*Update