Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Looking for some help some, tips

Posted by djinn5150 
Looking for some help some, tips
June 05, 2014 09:46AM
Hello all,

So first let me say I am new to the whole 3D printer world. I have built my first printer choosing the Smartrap. I have gotten everything working but with no consistency. I was able to get several calibration prints printed to within a .1

The problem comes when I try to print any replacement parts, specifically I really need a replacement x lm8 support, they tend to turn to swiss cheese. For instance last night I printed a lm8 bushing almost flawlessly, then turned around and ran the lm8 support through slic3r with the same settings the first few layers were nice then it just went bad for no apparent reason that I can tell. I was printing it vertically which I am sure makes a difference, but it was at about the screw hole that things went bad.

I had slicer set up at .25mm Layer height .4 infill /20 mm/s, 30 mm/s infill speed travel at 40 mms

Not sure what other info I need to provide for any help but can get anything without a problem.

Also I am using a knockoff j-head with a .4 nozzle.

thanks in advance.
Re: Looking for some help some, tips
June 05, 2014 10:38AM
Attaching a picture of the part, so we know what "went bad" and "turn to swiss cheese" are exactly referring to would be helpful. Is your extruder stepper knocking or filament slipping? What is your flow rate setting?

Mark
June 05, 2014 12:51PM
Swiss cheese sounds a bit like the issue's that i had. The in my case the hot-end seemed to be the cause.
And yes a picture would speak some extra tech talk, and we sure like to see your build djinn5150!
June 05, 2014 01:46PM
Not sure how to post images from my google drive folder but the link is here Located in the "prints" folder
There is also a photo of the build in its current, albeit messy state.