Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Greg's SmartRap Build

Posted by zackary 
Greg's SmartRap Build
June 21, 2014 02:21PM
Hi Everyone,
Great forum and really sound advice - much of it is a little over my head though.
As you can imagine I'm new to the 3D printing world and bought a kit from Smartfriendz that I hope you can see in the attached photo.
It's the 0.47 model with the fishing wire with Repetier host software.

After several weeks and lots of reading as well as confusing the temperature resistor for the heating block I got it built and all wired up and it seemed to move in the right directions under manual control.
However the extruder motor does not move ;-(
I tried a print in my excitement and now have filamente stuck in the bowden tube and during the pint just a little melted out of the hot end (Huxley hot end comes with the kit).... doh!!!
I also managed to overheat the PLA plastic support for the hot end that is now bent ... I could almost cry...
When it tried to print I was suprised to see the hot end dragging through the dried film of wood glue and water that I had applied to the glass (the night before) but this could be because I bent the PLA support rod when it all overheated. I had followed the instructions with the G29, M555 Z (offset) and M500 at the end of Serge¡s build instructions.
Thinking about this now the offset might have been wrong.

As checks I have tried connecting the extruder motor to the Z axis pins on the Arduino and it moved!! So I think the motor is OK.
I then tried the Z motor on the Extruder motor pins and no movement.
So I think the Arduino is not working right.

So my questions are:
1. Are there any other tests to perform or do I have to buy a new Arduino (expensive)?
2. Do I need to buy a new RAMPS board as well (I hope not)?
3. How do I get the PLA out of the hot end and bowden tube or can I just leave it till the next print and the temperature will free it all up?