Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Did I just bust my Gen6?

Posted by Arc 
Arc
Did I just bust my Gen6?
April 09, 2012 06:46PM
Building my first reprap, and been dreading the electronics from day 1 (I'm not very good with them). I finished building the actual machine a month ago and it's been collecting dust. Tried to hook it up to the computer today after downloading a couple of the recommended calibration programs (repsnapper and replicatorg).
When originally plugging it in I got no response from the computer about devices. The calibration programs timed out when 'connecting to the machine.' I've got the circuit board plugged into a 12 Volt 5 Amp power supply.
Re: Did I just bust my Gen6?
April 09, 2012 07:42PM
What type of computer, what operating system, Linux, MAC, Windows.

If windows did you install the ftdi drivers for the USB port? Once you connect the machine in repsnapper do you select the correct port and tell it to connect?

The computer doesn't respond until you tell it to look at a certain port well under windows anyway don't know about Linux or MAC

April 09, 2012 08:11PM
I have Windows 7. You were right about the driver, didn't know I had to do that.
So I started the process of installing the FTDI driver, and while going through the guide, I got stuck on page 7 where it has me go to Control Panel>Devices and Sound>Device Manager. Then select "Other Devices." I don't have an "Other Devices."
April 10, 2012 11:47AM
Maybe it's already installed. What do you have listed under com ports in device manager?

try printrun, it worked much better for my gen6.

http://koti.kapsi.fi/~kliment/printrun/

when you load that, does it say something like "COM6@250000" in the top corner?
Arc
April 10, 2012 06:35PM
andy-net Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Maybe it's already installed. What do you have
> listed under com ports in device manager?
>
> try printrun, it worked much better for my gen6.
>
> [koti.kapsi.fi]
>