Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

No Movement

Posted by FLBOTS 
No Movement
May 28, 2013 01:12PM
I'm having an issue with my printer run off of a rambo board with marlin firmware. I had it printing previously, but came back to the printer after a night and wasn't getting any movement, though I could update the firmware on the board. I tried a new board and a new power supply, but still no movement.

I don't need the temperature settings to be functional for the application I have in mind.
Any thoughts on how to test if the issue is with the motors, the board, or the firmware?

What is the best way to test if my motors are fried?

Is there a way to bypass all temperature conditions on printing?

Any suggestions are appreciated, I'm new to this, so let me know what I can clarify to make answering any easier.

Thanks!
Re: No Movement
May 28, 2013 01:15PM
Also, the temperature reading I'm getting is (500-room temp) and it goes down when heated. Seems like I have something flipped, but I'm not sure whether it's a pins issue or a configuration issue or a hardware issue.
May 28, 2013 01:17PM
You could try the RAMPS 1.4 test code.

It just outputs to all motors to move back and forth a small bit and flash some LEDs.

[reprap.org]

Not sure if it will work on the RAMBO, but since the Rambo says it accepts RAMPS firmware, it should work.
May 28, 2013 02:33PM
Thanks for the quick reply. I tried the test code and I'm getting a repeated readout of "T0 0/31 T1 0/31 T2 0/31" in pronterface when I connect to the board., but no movement from the motors.

Does the fact that I'm getting a reading from the thermistor but no response from the motors mean that there is something wrong with the motors? or could that be a ramps/rambo compatibility issue? I wasn't getting any errors when I sent the code, for what it's worth.

Thanks again
May 28, 2013 04:17PM
Have you checked your power supply? (Check it with a meter)

Are the motors getting any power at all?