Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder troubles

Posted by TheFerminator 
Extruder troubles
July 13, 2013 10:02PM
I just finished building, and now my extruder keeps stripping a spot on the filament rather than extruding. Also, my extruder has a fan that I have no idea where to connect.

My build:
Frame - Original PrintrBot with additional support for Z motors.
Electronics - Ultimate kit from reprapdiscount
Extruder - QU-BD extruder with their motor, assembled by me

I have tried adjusting the filament tensioner without any effect on the problem. Any help would be nice, I'm a noob and I know it. It is probably something simple.
Re: Extruder troubles
July 14, 2013 08:24AM
Your electronic kit is «RAMPS» i guess.

Plug your fan in the D9 output. Be aware not to confuse the wires (+ & -) with a fan.

I've heard that the Qu-BD was problematic quite often. Try to polish the inside of your stainless steel barrel.

What plastic and filament do you use?
July 14, 2013 10:23AM
Yes I am using ramps, I am using 1.75mm ABS. I will check the barrel and the nozzle.
July 14, 2013 10:34AM
Be sure your temperature is high enough. Heat it up till the point it just dribbles out of your hot end a little, then back it off about 5 degrees.

Good luck, ash.
July 14, 2013 07:00PM
Here is what I've done to fix the barrel. I have done 30 plus hours prints with no problems at all.

[www.buildlog.net]

Mike has some barrels I made up for $15 each. You can contact Mike at

mike at thewoodworker dot net

Rodney
July 14, 2013 09:39PM
I sent him an email. Unfortunately I don't have the equipment to make the modifications myself. Are his barrels like the one you made?
July 14, 2013 11:10PM
I made the ones Mike has for sale and they are a 1 piece design. It is a basic swap out from your barrel to the new one.

Also it helps to add a MK7 gear. Here is where I get mine at.

[www.ebay.com]

Rodney
July 15, 2013 12:21AM