Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Random X homing movements

Posted by samsam481 
Random X homing movements
March 26, 2014 06:33PM
Hi guys, i'm quite new to the rep rap world.
My DIYtechshop printer, when I ask it to home (Either G28 X0 or in repetier host) it homes at random places!
I'll open up the printer, making sure that the X axis is at the endstop (which is at Xmax around 230mm), I'll then make it move to 0 manualy, then i'll ask it to home. But strangely it stops about 10mm further.
The worst thing is that repetier thinks it is at X230 even if it moved around 10mm.

My X axis stepper is calibrated to the belt and pulley that I have (20teeth, nema 17 motor, on ramps).

I have changed this:
#define X_MAX_LENGTH 300
#define Y_MAX_LENGTH 300
#define Z_MAX_LENGTH 165

because i thought that this:

#define X_MAX_LENGTH (X_MAX_POS - X_MIN_POS)
#define Y_MAX_LENGTH (Y_MAX_POS - Y_MIN_POS)
#define Z_MAX_LENGTH (Z_MAX_POS - Z_MIN_POS)

might be the problem, but either way it does not change anything.

I have attached my configuration.h so you can have a look at it.

Thanks in adavance!
Attachments:
open | download - Configuration.h (29.8 KB)
Re: Random X homing movements
March 27, 2014 12:33AM
You may not be calibrated correctly. Or you may be skipping steps. I would check your ref voltage on the drivers. You can check to see if its skipping by putting slight pressure against the carriage and see if it has problems moving. If so bump your ref voltage up a bit.
March 27, 2014 01:15AM
Thanks for the reply!
I've tried to tweak with the voltage but if I put it any higher the movements sound too difficult whereas where they are now (voltage reduced by 30 degres) everything is smoother. I also tried adding more into it but they either just skip, or dont move at all. So I don't think the pots are the problem.