Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Rough 1st print job

Posted by mivison 
Rough 1st print job
March 01, 2015 08:50PM
just built my first reprap. i am a noob to 3d printing . i bought a folgers prusa i3 kit. this is my first print job. can any one tell you why the finish is so rough? this is ABS. it looks like chatter marks.to view the pics click on Z Block1 or 2

Z Block1
Z Block2
Re: Rough 1st print job
March 02, 2015 01:12PM
Stepper motors been either underpowered or overpower, belts not tight enough, or Z wobbling.

Most likely is that you haven't adjust the trim pots on the stepper drivers.

Maybe is the picture, but it looks like you are having also some temperature fluctuations, be sure your thermistor is secure in place.

One last thing since you mentioned ABS, what temperature are you printing at and are you protecting the printer from cold air drafts? .

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/02/2015 01:17PM by ggherbaz.
March 04, 2015 06:35PM
the printer is open. i just built it. ive got some pla i'm going to try.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/04/2015 06:38PM by mivison.
March 04, 2015 07:02PM
I'm a noob too, but think that looks better than the layer lines in all prints...
March 05, 2015 05:28PM
My folger i3 prints exactly the same patterns. I'm suspecting my extruder motor as I can physically feel and see it pulse slightly. I'm working on changing the hot end and direct drive setup at the moment, if that doesn't help I might try a high torque motor. I honestly don't know if there's anything in the firmware that would help but adjusting current didn't do anything for me.
March 05, 2015 09:08PM
i changed from printing ABS to PLA. i also tweeked slis3r a little and the printing improved some. click on the pictures to zoom in. @nitrhog, what extruder head are you looking at? i too would love to upgrade.

Folger prints by mivison1, on Flickr

Folger prints by mivison1, on Flickr

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/05/2015 09:10PM by mivison.