Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

PLA getting stuck in extruder - HELPconfused smiley

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
PLA getting stuck in extruder - HELPconfused smiley
August 05, 2016 07:42AM
Hi
I am very new to building 3d printing and repraps. Its been a very steep learing curve.

First of all, Bought a cheap extruder from china for $15 that blocked immediately, the pla just curled up inside of the extruder.
It really clogged up the extruder. (It may have not even had an opening) so i bought a decent extruder for aurarum aus for $50.
It started to extruder a bit of filament then the PLA curled up inside.

Why is this happening? How can i prevent it? And how can i unclog the $50 extruder?

Thanks hot smiley
Re: PLA getting stuck in extruder - HELPconfused smiley
August 05, 2016 09:09AM
Did you calibrate your e-steps first?
Raise the printhead more than 100mm.
Unscrew the nozzle, heat up the extruder and try to extrude 100mm filament and measure if it really is 100mm.

Many of those china clones don't have a PTFE liner inside the upper part of the heatsink.
You have to be lucky to find the hole in the M6 heatbarrier.

I drilled the heatsink open to 4.2mm from the top end and inserted a piece of PTFE to guide the filament into the heatbarrier.
August 05, 2016 06:36PM
Sound to me that you are using 1.75 mm filament in a 3mm hotend? Can you post photos and links of your hotends (both the 15 and the 50) plus filament size.
Anonymous User
August 05, 2016 08:47PM
This site wont let me post the pictures, let me compress them on my pc.

I would test the steps per mm but i cant because the nozzle and the connector(between the cubic heater bit and the heatsink) are blocked.
Anonymous User
August 05, 2016 08:49PM
I bought the filament from china (yes i have learnt my lesson about el crappo cheap chinese items) so it is possible that the size isnt uniform.
Anonymous User
August 05, 2016 08:57PM