Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Reprap Design Strategies - Ultimaker

Posted by filippo 
Reprap Design Strategies - Ultimaker
April 28, 2013 08:43AM
I am new to 3d printing and was investigating different reprap designs and trying to understand what current challenges repraps were facing. I was wondering a few things:

1. With regards to speed of fabrication, what is the limiting factors on the speed of printing?

2. I found that the Ultimaker is one of the best in terms of speed for a given precision; so what exactly about its design is so good compared to other printers ? (If say the other printer also has a light Bowden extruder)

3. Also, what type of problems does one run into with this design in comparison to other designs?

4. I know the cost is also pretty high for the Ultimaker; which parts therefore are the most expensive? And why is it cheaper to make, for example, Mendel style designs in comparison?

5. I was also wondering the benefits and drawbacks of direct belt systems versus double belt systems or rack pinion setups?

Quite a few questions I guess but just wanted to get an opinion on why different designs are better. Cheers for reading.
Re: Reprap Design Strategies - Ultimaker
April 28, 2013 12:45PM
The mass moved by the motors limits the accelleration of the axis, this becomes significant at higher speeds.
The Ultimaker has very low moving mass, so it can run aggressive accelerations, which results in higher print speeds.
On a conventional Mendel style printer the Yaxis would become the limiting factor if you used a Bowden extruder, on most simple gantry designs, you end up having to move at least the mass of a one motor along an axis. The exceptions are HBots an the variants there of (coreXY etc) and the Etchasketch (ultimaker like) designs.

My blog [3dprinterhell.blogspot.com]
April 28, 2013 08:33PM