Advanced

Cheltenham Upstart

Posted by ijmok 
Cheltenham Upstart
May 07, 2011 07:28PM
Hello,

Thought id introduce my self

Im Rob, 21 and im an Apprentice by nature

I work with a Dimension, a Prodigy Scrap that it got chucked last week in favour of a Fortus grinning smiley and a Eden.

I saw Rep rap when Darwin first self replicated and though "wow what a great idea"

3 years later I thought id give it a go, so i'm building a Mendel Prusa, With Ramps Electronics.

Work weren't game for printing a set but at £300/kg or ABS filament i cant blame them,

Thankfully Nophead was kind enough to sort me a set out, if i'm honest i'm really impressed with them, they really do give our machines a run for there money, So thanks,

Rep rap store have supplied most fixings and bar etc, work the odds and sods for extruder and springs etc.

And ive also been able to knock up some alignment bars and other odds and sods, i do intend to turn my hot end at work at some point as well.

So far:

The frame is together (thanks to the pictorial guide)

Stepper motors are install in all but the extruder and the 3 axis move well (some minor tweaking to go i suspect)

All but the Pololu drivers have arrived and are awaiting soldering, in the mean time the Ardunio has been fun to play with, and did take a copy of the firmware which reprap host, repersnaper both connected to with no problems.

For now here a few photos of of my progress in the last 2 or 3 weeks.

[www.flickr.com]
Re: Cheltenham Upstart
May 10, 2011 07:14AM
Hi Rob,

Welcome to the fun and thanks for the info. WOW that's some expensive filament!

If you really are in Cheltenham, I'm very close to you if you ever get stuck or need a hand.

Nice build photos, it looks like you are getting on well.

Rich.

[richrap.blogspot.com]
May 12, 2011 06:06PM
Thanks smiling smiley

Yea it is expensive, and the maintenance/repair contract is upwards of 5K