Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First 3D Printer Decision

Posted by Tidsuo 
First 3D Printer Decision
February 13, 2016 12:58AM
Hello all!

I am very new to the field of 3D printing and was hoping that I could get some pointers as to what I should look for for my first printer. I originally thought of getting a pre-assembled
printer but they seem to be on the expensive side. Then I stumbled upon RepRaps. I have looked at many different types of printers and I think the Prusa I3 type is the best for a beginner like me.

For pre-assembled kits I have taken a liking to the Folger Tech 2020. Even though this one appeals to me and my wallet I'd rather build a printer myself to learn more in depth of how they
function and how to maybe improve them? I haven't been able to find a detailed set of instructions that instruct how to build a specific one.

Should I drop the DIY aspect and get a pre-assembled kit/printer and go from there?
Re: First 3D Printer Decision
February 13, 2016 08:50AM
If your goal is to get printing quickly buy an assembled printer like the Wanhao i3.

The Folgertech is a kit so while you are not sourcing it all yourself you do have to assemble and tune it. Based on what your message implies, I'd buy a kit and learn on it. There will be plenty of opportunities to customize the kit and then when you know more you can use that printer to help build something from plans or scratch.
February 13, 2016 09:39AM
Tidsuo
Hello all!

I am very new to the field of 3D printing and was hoping that I could get some pointers as to what I should look for for my first printer. I originally thought of getting a pre-assembled
printer but they seem to be on the expensive side. Then I stumbled upon RepRaps. I have looked at many different types of printers and I think the Prusa I3 type is the best for a beginner like me.