Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Looking for a 'good' kit for my school's limited budget

Posted by prispin 
Looking for a 'good' kit for my school's limited budget
September 12, 2015 04:19PM
I'm a teacher who wants to do two things with a 3D printer:
1) have a good starting project for our new robotics club
2) soon make trouble-free parts for robotics and for a class that will be sending an experiment to the ISS.
As we searched for a printer, we soon found that RepRap was the way to go.
Then the Prusa i3 seems to be the most actively used and constantly updated design. This has pros and cons - the pros are of course a very active community of user/builders for my students to join who can help them get it running and keep it running, and even update it over the next several years. The cons are that there is no 1 Prusa i3, and the kits are all over the map - so it is hard to figure out what exactly we should look for in a kit, IF we should go with a kit, and if a kit will do it, then who makes one that is worth the money?

Can I ask, on behalf of my students -
what are the list of features this community has learned are the most important to focus on in a Prusa?
what kits are the highest quality for the lowest price?
if not a kit, then how do you source all the parts to make the best Prusa i3 for the lowest price?
(ideally finishing under $800 USD after buying the parts and all necessary build supplies. We have a good soldering iron, but not much more.
should we look at another design entirely?

So far I'm learning that for any 3D printer, the biggest goals are: quality electronics and motors and moving parts; as rigid a frame as possible (steel, but other materials can be good depending on the design), the best possible extruder assembly, (Wade?) and a good quality (how to tell?) heated bed. With the Prusa, there are z axis issues that can be addressed with a quality frame and good quality long-shaft motors, (not sure what else to aim for there)