Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help with random PLA layers printing poorly

Posted by tc197 
Help with random PLA layers printing poorly
November 17, 2015 08:17PM
Hey guys,

This is my first post, I've been reading all sorts of stuff on here for months now and I appreciate the help you didn't know you were giving me.

I have an 8" MakerFarm Prusa i3v with a .4mm hexagon head that I've been playing with for a few months now and I'm running into some trouble.

Here is a picture of my part:

This was printed in PLA at 50 mm/s 195C for the extruder and 70C for the bed. I sliced it with Cura.

Previously I used slic3r and was printing more in the 220C range with pretty good results. I was using purple filament from Makerfarm and my problems started when I ran out of purple and switched to Orange. The orange is also from Makerfarm so I would've assumed it's the same stuff but I haven't had good prints since. After awhile, slic3r began pissing me off and now I made the switch to Cura and I already like it better. The part above is my first Cura print. My first guess was to try printing at a bit higher temperature so I raised it to 200C and that's printing as we speak. A picture of that part is here:

As you can see there are still a few defects along the same lines as the first print but it is getting better. I'm hesitant to keep raising the temperature though because I was playing with a few smaller parts with overhangs and they began curling up severely at higher temperatures.

Do you think I need to increase my extruder temperature to eliminate the defects in the layers and worry about the overhangs and curling with a better cooling fan setup? Or is there another setting I can tweak to help with this? My only other thought is this is an extruder issue but I don't know what i would change there, I've been using the same version of a Greg Wades Accessible Extruder since I got the machine.

Thanks for any advice.