Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How to setup second independant serial port on Marlin 2.0.9

Posted by Josey76 
How to setup second independant serial port on Marlin 2.0.9
October 05, 2021 12:22AM
Hi, I'm new to the Reprap forums. A bit of history about me, I'm an electronics tech at work and I've been exploring 3D printing as a hobby for about 2.5 years. I've built my own core XY printer and I've been using Marlin on it and it works great.

So when a project came up at work needing 5 axis stepper control, Marlin was the first thing I looked into. To my surprise 6 axis support has recently been added. We setup an Adafruit Grand Central and a RAMPS 1.4 board and so far Marlin 2.0.9 has been working great on this setup. I've added some simple position error correction using rotary quadrature encoders and some M codes for controlling solenoids and such and all that is working great.

So my next big hurdle is connecting another device to Marlin over RS485. Here is where I've hit a block. If I enable another serial port in Configuration.h:
#define SERIAL_PORT_2 1
#define BAUDRATE_2 9600 // Enable to override BAUDRATE
I get another serial port that translates fine over a MAX3485. I'm using a USB to RS485 adapter to read the signal back into my laptop for testing. I can transmit data from Marlin over RS485 to the external device, but I can't receive anything back. I can confirm that Marlin is reading the serial port correctly (via the MAX3485) because I can send G code and M code through this port and get responses.