Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Looking for Prusa Mendel RP parts

Posted by ajsg8r 
Looking for Prusa Mendel RP parts
December 28, 2011 08:10AM
Hi all,

Brand new to this, but really excited to get started. I'm a recent Florida ME grad with too much time on his hands! After digging around, I've decided to start with a Prusa build. I'm looking for a set of ABS parts for the Prusa along with the parts for Wade's Geared Extruder. They can be SAE or metric, though I imagine SAE is probably going to be better for me in the US (right?). I'm just looking to get going.

[reprap.org]
[reprap.org]

I've looked around on ebay, I just wanted to see what kind of prices I could get here.

And I promise the FIRST thing I'll print is more Mendel parts, I feel like there is a shortage of sellers!

Whatcha got?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/28/2011 03:15PM by ajsg8r.
Re: Looking for Prusa Mendel RP parts
December 29, 2011 05:28AM
There is a shortage of sellers because people/buyers want free stuff smiling smiley. Some of them/sellers added up all the work and time involve in making parts, they realized, that they make more money by collecting cans or working at some fast food restaurant. If you look on ebay some of them are so competitive they are willing to sell it at $40. Just keep on bidding once knowing they have another one coming. It's just a matter of time before you get it at minimum bid. An alternative is to make it out of wood using your hands. It's hard work, but at least it's free. You need a pair of hands, some wood from the trash, and a saw and bingo, you got some free parts.

ps. if $40 isn't cheap enough I think the second option would be best. There are machines starting at $0.99, but I don't think they have any intention of selling it at $0.99. And besides, I don't think you can get one for $0.99 anyway.