Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Wanted High resolution reprap

Posted by Davybones 
Wanted High resolution reprap
February 22, 2012 10:57PM
Hello all,
I am new to the 3D printing area I am wondering if it is possible to create a high resolution Prusa or other reprap such that it has accuracy of 0.01 inches or better, I understand you can buy smaller nozzles and adjust the motor settings to trade speed for accuracy, is this correct?

or if I should purchase a 3D printer from a place such as desktopfab [www.desktopfab.com]
which offers rapman or 3D touch which they claim to have resolution of 0.01 inches and .005 inches.

Thank you for your response the help is greatly appreciated.
Re: Wanted High resolution reprap
February 23, 2012 12:49AM
Most 3d printers around these days have far better positioning accuracy than .005in, reprap or otherwise. None of them will actually make big parts which do not have some type of warping out of that 0.005". It's very part dependent.

What are your other required specs/intended uses?

www.Fablicator.com
February 23, 2012 11:35AM
Hello
Thank you for the reply
Basically I want to buy a printer. I have seen printed parts made using a dimension 1200 printer that look really nice.
surface roughness (RMS tolerance) is noticeable if you look at it closely.
From the 3D prints I have seen using a Rep Rap that Surface roughness looks a lot more exaggerated and is highly visible.
looking at The gallery for the 3D touch printer the parts have an RMS that looks much better (closer to the dimension 1200). I understand that due to heating and cooling of the plastic there will be some warp occurring depending on the geometry the dimensions could hold higher tolerances if they are thicker. I am also interested in dimension tolerances.

The reason I put this in the wanted section is,