Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to the RepRap world and have tons of questions

Posted by deathstar 
New to the RepRap world and have tons of questions
November 16, 2011 04:00PM
Im new to the RepRap world and I have alot of questions to ask. First off I want to build a new Mendel RepRap so out of your experience what is the best motherboard to use with it? what are all the parts that I will need? Is this better than going out and buying a Makerbot? Should I use a heated bed? How long will it take to build? Is it easier to work with on Linux or windows?
Re: New to the RepRap world and have tons of questions
November 16, 2011 04:08PM
Hi there deathstar! Welcome to the community. I'd recommend you start with [reprap.org]

deathstar Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Im new to the RepRap world and I have alot of
> questions to ask. First off I want to build a new
> Mendel RepRap so out of your experience what is
> the best motherboard to use with it?

RAMPS or Sanguinololu. Ramps = more features; Sanguinololu = cheaper.

> what are all the parts that I will need?

Plastic parts, threaded rods, smooth rods, fasteners, motors, belts, wires, hot end, PSU. See above link,

> Is this better than going out and buying a Makerbot?

Absolutely yes, as long as you're good with your hands and like tweaking. You'll save a boatload of money and get a better machine that can print larger parts faster and more quietly.

> Should I use a heated bed?

Yes if you're going to be printing with ABS. If you're printing PLA, it can be nice, but isn't necessary.

>How long will it take to build?

Assuming you have all the parts in front of you, a few weeknights or maybe a weekend. Calibration can take longer though…

> Is it easier to work with on Linux or windows?

Shouldn't matter.
November 16, 2011 04:17PM