Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Nozzle Selection

Posted by jairoma01 
Nozzle Selection
November 17, 2011 01:38AM
On my understanding the nozzle diameter it is a balance between the growing speed (per layer) and the level of desired detail. Yes, I am a beginner and I am trying to figure out how to do the correct selection for building my first Prusa. Do you have any documentation about the best practices in order to select the best size according to the required application?.
Anyway the nozzle does not look as a interchangeable part without the rest of the hot end.
I read that it is better begin with the bigger one 0.5mm; and just after doing some good jobs with that, test the smaller ones 0.35mm and 0.25mm. And they say that it is more difficult start with the smaller ones. It sound obvious because it is easier melt through a bigger hole. But that it is not related with the printing goal itself.
I have also a similar doubt about of the diameter of the filament (3mm or 1.75mm) that implies to change the extruder kit also? How to select it?
Sorry for my English (it is not my first language)
Re: Nozzle Selection
November 17, 2011 05:45AM
Hello and welcome,

0.5mm is a good starting point and is good for most things, you don't find much bigger sizes any more, but smaller is getting more popular.

With a 0.5mm nozzle you can be quite a bit out on flatness of the bed and also most other little things, after a layer or so it will all level itself out.
You can also use 'SKIN' in skeinforge to give you smaller layers, this will give you smooth outer walls but not provide any more horizontal detail, for that you also need a smaller nozzle.

With 0.5mm then 3mm or 1.75mm is ok, you can extruder faster with 1.75mm feedstock or use a smaller extruder motor (that also allows faster speeds = less mass moving about)