Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Absolute Beginner To Choose First Build

Posted by STT 
STT
Absolute Beginner To Choose First Build
December 03, 2011 09:53AM
Howdy,

I'm trying to decide which printer kit to purchase to get me started. I hope for my first printer to be under $1,000.

The first thing I'm thinking of a is a Huxely, another option is the Printrbot. Both of these can be obtained relatively cheaply, which means I will have more left over for a more ambitious build. What are your opinions of these printers?

Additional problem: I live in Adelaide, Australia, so sourcing many different parts from different places is may be a false economy due to shipping costs.

Cheers,
STT

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/03/2011 10:53AM by STT.
Re: Absolute Beginner To Choose First Build
December 03, 2011 12:02PM
Depends on how soon you need it, your level of technical skill with electronics, and how big of a print area you want. A Huxley will be fine, but there's a fairly high learning curve if you don't have any major electronics projects under your belt already. They are pretty reliable machines, but the hot end is a weak link and can jam. Personally, I'd take a wait-and-see approach to the Printrbot because you won't get it for weeks or month and it's still relatively untested. Both machines have sort of medium-sized print areas.

For a beginner without a ton of electronics experience, I always suggest a Makergear Mosaic or Prusa kit. They're both under $1000, reliable, produce beautiful prints, and you can get the electronics pre-assembled. And Makergear is a reliable company with great support, and the extruder and hot end on these printers is rock solid. The Prusa will be a little larger and more nerdy, and the Mosaic is more compact and a bit more of an appliance. If you're a total beginner, I'd definitely recommend against self-sourcing. It can be much cheaper, but only if you really know what you're doing.