Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What is wrapping problem??

Posted by ahbtsang 
What is wrapping problem??
December 06, 2011 09:38AM
Hi all, I am new to the Reprap. I've heard of the wrapping problem when using the Stratasys machines and I've heard about similar problems with reprap. Can somebody explain to me, or show me information what that actually is?? What is causing this problem?

many thanks.
VDX
Re: What is wrapping problem??
December 06, 2011 09:47AM
... it's not 'wrapping', but 'warping' - the problem is mostly defined by lifting edges with sheetwise printing because of rising inner tension/stress while cooling down ...

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
December 06, 2011 09:54AM
It happens when the layers cool at different rates or suddenly.
A heated bed will help solve the issue.

My Reprap blog

jds-reprap.blogspot.com
December 06, 2011 09:54AM
ahbtsang Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
>I've heard of the
> wrapping problem when using the Stratasys machines
> and I've heard about similar problems with reprap.
> Can somebody explain to me, or show me information
> what that actually is??
Ummm ... would that be the problem that a RepRap is such an awkward shape that it is just about impossible to wrap one as a gift, so many would-be RepRappers won't find one under their Christmas Tree this year? smiling smiley

Seriously though, I expect you are referring to "warping"? That is simply the issue that as the plastic cools down it shrinks, and this can tend to lead to warping of the printed part; not a particularly big deal with PLA filament, but definitely needs treatment with ABS (which melts at a higher temperature, and has higher coefficient of thermal expansion than PLA, so shows more thermal distortion). Standard procedure is to use a heated print bed: [reprap.org]