Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

definition of RepRap (request from a copy editor)

Posted by judy arginteanu 
definition of RepRap (request from a copy editor)
January 12, 2012 11:24AM
Hi. I'm a copy editor for a national magazine, and we're mentioning RepRap briefly in an upcoming article. Here's how we're talking about it:

"rapid prototyping systems like RepRap, in which used plastic objects are broken down and used to produce new, useful things."

This seems to more or less jibe with what I saw on the RepRap wiki, but unfortunately not being particularly tech- or practical-minded (to my chagrin), I thought I'd doublecheck with people who know.

If anyone can confirm or correct this general description at their earliest convenience, I'd be much obliged.

BTW, the whole things sounds unbelievably cool.

Best,
Judy Arginteanu
Re: definition of RepRap (request from a copy editor)
January 12, 2012 12:40PM
Hi Judy,

Its a little wordy and not sure its exactly what you want, but this is how we describe it on our RepRap Central website

RepRap stands for Replicating Rapid Prototyper. The RepRap project was created in 2005 by Dr Adrian Bowyer, a senior lecturer in mechanical engineering at the University of Bath, United Kingdom. The goal of the project is to create a pure self-replicating device, in this case a 3D Printer, that will become ever more useful and so ensure its own evolution and distribution.

A RepRap Printer can print a percentage of its component parts. As important in many ways, is its ability to create useful products from digital designs. You can design and print products using a standard PC and a 3D Printer. You can even download product designs from the Internet and kickstart your own manufacturing revolution. This 'Portable Factory' concept will change the lives of many and the introduction of low cost DIY 3D Printers will herald in a new era of personal manufacturing.

Regards
RepRapCentral.com
January 12, 2012 01:06PM