Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Yikes where do I start.. I hope I did not make a mistake

Posted by TechnoBill 
Yikes where do I start.. I hope I did not make a mistake
February 09, 2012 07:16PM
Hi All,
I am very new to 3D prinitng.. as a matter of fact I dont even have the printer yet.. its is flying to me as we speak.
I was doing some research into the different printers and really want to dabble into 3D printing but could not really afford any of the bigger ticket ready to go models. Although I am rather technical, I was a bit concerned about attempting to build one myself as I am a bit of a klutz and I am sure it would have ended in disaster.
So I went for the next best thing. I bought one of the preassembled mendels. I know there is lots of fiddling and adjusting to get them printing right and that part I don’t mind. However it never really occurred to me to check up on the supplier. In my case it’s a preassembled botmill printer I am buying from someone who never used it. I have read many negatives in regards to these kits.
Am I doomed? I notice the botmill forum has zero posts.. that’s not a good sign as I really want to collect as much info as I can since I am jumping into the deep end with a prebuilt one.

My first action will be to just delicately test out the movements manually at first with the printer off and then once hooked up do some manual tests of the drives without any filament loaded so I can check the axis all work, plate is level and head temp is somewhat accurate, etc. Is there a good site that covers starting up the printer for the first time?
Some of the horror stories are scary.

Bill D

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/09/2012 09:43PM by TechnoBill.
Re: Yikes where do I start.. I hope I did not make a mistake
February 10, 2012 02:12AM
I haven't followed the Botmill saga, but I imagine that being "preassembled" you should be getting something with all the basic bits.