Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What do I start with?

Posted by Tupin 
What do I start with?
April 16, 2012 07:48PM
Hi, I've been interested in 3D printers for the longest time, and now I'm going to start looking into building one myself. I have some electronics experience, but I've never built something this intricate. I've noticed there are a lot of models on a lot of different price ranges. Which one is the best for the price, a good intro machine to 3D printing? A Prusa? A Mendel? What can I expect to pay for these kits, or is it better to just source parts myself? I've heard of people making them for $350 by sourcing their own stuff...

What's the difference between a 1.75mm and 3mm printing head? Resolution? I apologize for all of the questions, but man, is this one technological revolution I would love to be a part of. Thanks.
Re: What do I start with?
April 16, 2012 08:33PM
i'm a noob and don't even have a machine assembled yet but i will share what i have found
there seems to be 2 big schools of thought in reprap design
1. the younger "practical machine for the cheapest possible cost" school which focuses on giving you a machine that is neither necessarily fast or high resolution but is easy to assemble and practical enough to use this school includes machines like printrbot, wallace, prusa(depending on how you source it), and a few upcoming
2. and the older "best bang for your buck" school which focuses on giving you a better value or a machine machine that is more expensive but has proportionally better performance this seems to includes machines like mendel max, mendel90, prusa(again depending on how you source it), and a few more upcoming designs

3mm filament seems to be recommended for beginners and there seems to be debate at whether 1.75 has any sort of benefit

here is the cheapest prusa BOM i've seen [www.thefrankes.com]
here is the cheapest kit I've seen [printrbot.com]
April 16, 2012 10:35PM