Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

NEWBIE questions and suggestions needed!grinning smiley

Posted by Agent Tikki 
NEWBIE questions and suggestions needed!grinning smiley
April 25, 2012 12:34PM
I've been wondering for a long time how to get into making my own 3d modeling. I have a nice little tax refund check coming to me and I've been trying to figure out what best for me. I will like to make some pretty complex shapes, similar to a shape of a car brake bracket and some of my plans will include objects at least 3 inches by 5 inches by 12 inches. I would like to use pretty sturdy plastics like abs. Speed is not too much of an issue, if it takes a day, I can wait no problem. I'd like material costs to be cheap as possible as I think I'll be burning the midnight oil and lots and lost of stuff! I am pretty handy with mechanical stuff. I'm a avid computer user. I've built all my PCs, but I'm just learning cad/solidworks software. So I'm pretty sure I can put together a kit by myself. I have done lots of google searches but I feel like I'm still lacking in lots of important information and reliable user opinions.

Can any please suggest:

1) A tutorial or resource that I can read to help bring me up to speed.
2) Will I need a dual head unit to make complex shapes? I'm worried about small but long L and U shapes.
3) What kind of units should I be looking at?
4) what things should I be looking out for?

Any help and information would be greatly appreciated!

TIA!grinning smiley
Re: NEWBIE questions and suggestions needed!grinning smiley
April 26, 2012 06:07AM
1) Reprap, modelling or 3d printing in general?
2) It depends on the design if you need a lot of overhangs then its worth looking dual heads.
3) What's your budget, is 12+ build area an essential and are you willing to build/source it yourself?

My Reprap blog

jds-reprap.blogspot.com
April 26, 2012 01:23PM
1) Reprap, modelling or 3d printing in general?