Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

super beginner here

Posted by gardenmagic 
super beginner here
November 13, 2013 03:29AM
I have tons of questions to ask, but before I start picking every ones brains, I need to learn more basic info. any links to a thread that had all the general faqs, print sizes, print speed, parts list with estimated costs, etc etc...

I plan on building hundreds of 8" x 2" x 1/8" trays, so direction to something that would be capable to this would be great.

Thanks
Re: super beginner here
November 13, 2013 04:18AM
What do you mean by

8" x 2" x 1/8" trays
do you mean something like this

[www.thingiverse.com]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/13/2013 04:19AM by rogerclark.
November 13, 2013 10:53AM
Not really. There is no "dish" to my trays. Imagine more of a flat sheet of plastic, with small ridges on underside for support. Either end well have holes for hanging apparatus. Tray itself will have 5 - 1.25" holes to hold little cups.
November 13, 2013 01:02PM
Have you explored vacu-forming

[makezine.com]

[www.youtube.com]

[www.youtube.com]
November 13, 2013 01:50PM
I've believe the best route for these would be either injection molding or stamping out of plastic sheets, but as both of those require thousand of dollars just for tooling, and a shop ( so paying for labor) to do, I've come to the conclusion that until this takes off, a 3D printer would be my best bet. Since I'm a tinkerer by nature and there are other part parts that I can make as well, owning a 3D printer would come in handy. I've looked into some of the sites that rent out the big industrial ones ($1000/mo) which I might be willing to do, but buying/ building one of these, then using it to build another, seems like the best option. Worst case, company flops, no sales, in out maybe $5k instead of $20k (a 10 run injection mold cost like $15)

my questions were more about the plastics, and maybe on rebuild of second printer, making a bigger tray.