Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Strange behavior with X loosing steps

Posted by barsam 
Strange behavior with X loosing steps
December 01, 2013 08:15AM
Hi All,

I am new in the 3D printing world, but I have a very good know how of CNC machines, as I have build my own router. So I have a good knowledge of electronics and mechanics.
I just finished building my 3D printer, which is custom designed and made. Everything looks to work perfectly, except an issue that is bothering me and I can not find the source of the problem, so any help/ideas will be much appreciated.

So here are the setup facts:

Mechanical Setup:
- 4 SY42STH47-1684A Stepper motors + the Extruder which is a 5:1 planetary Nema 11
- X and Y are driven with lead screws from Triniti Labs 10 start 25mm per revolution. Z is driven by 2 trapezoidal 2mm per revolution screws.

Electronics:
- Rumba Controller (Powered from power supply and not from USB )
- 4 8825 Pololu drivers (X, Y, Dual Z) and 1 8824 Pololu driver for the extruder as it is a low current Nema 11 motor. X & Y are setup at 16 micro steps, Z at full step, and E at 1/4 micro steps
- 13A 24V Power supply for all the electronics (The heat bed is controlled by a Solid State Relay as it is 240V heater) so the 13A power supply is more that enough I guess.
- Full graphics LCD screen

Software:
- Marlin Firmware
- Repetier host, or OctoPrint

Setup:
- Steps Per: X128 Y128 Z100 E115.8
- Feed Rate: X350 Y350 Z35 E70
- Acceleration: X3000 Y3000 Z100 E10000

So I don't think that anything else is relevant to describe my problem.

The Problem:

So I have X lossing steps after a strange (hammering noise) during print. It happens almost every time. I only managed to finish one print without having the issue.
But I also have a test scenario that can reproduce the problem every single time. And this is the strange part of the behavior.

So I execute the following code for both X and Y without any problem at all

G01 X320 F21000
G01 X0 F21000