Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

UV curable FILAMENT?

Posted by strantor 
UV curable FILAMENT?
March 01, 2014 03:43PM
Assuming we all want the strongest parts possible In 3d printing, it seems we are limited to reprap-style extrusion, which is doomed to layer adhesion issues no matter how awesome of filament you choose (carbon fiber infused, nylon, PET, etc.) or SLA which is cost prohibitive and complicated. But what if we combined techniques for a middle of the road compromise? What if we made a filament that was UV curable? Reading the datasheets on some of these SLA resins, I find that SLA resin printed parts can (depending on resin, of course) increase strength by a factor of 5, simply by post-processing in a UV cure oven. Would it not be possible to make a filament that, after being extruded into a finished part, when it is exposed to heat and UV light, bonds on a molecular level to nullify the issue of layer adhesion?

I'm not a thermoplastics engineer and I really have no clue what I'm talking about, so feel free to drop a dope slap of reality across my face. I assume there's something wrong with this idea since I can't find any UV curable filament for sale. But, I thought I'd drop the idea, just in case.
Re: UV curable FILAMENT?
March 01, 2014 03:51PM
I think putting parts in an acetone vapor bath (for ABS) would give a similar affect as putting SLA parts in a UV oven. the layers would be able to "melt" together more thoroughly.

Having a UV curable filament doesn't make much sense to me, granted im not a materials engineer either. But the UV is what bonds the resin into layers to begin with. So with a UV filament you would need it to be extrudeable at appropriate temperatures, THEN UV curable.

It would be interesting to see a comparison between a vapor bathed part and a UV baked part to see if they are comparable...

greghoge.com

HUGE 3D PRINTER PARTS SALE!!!
March 01, 2014 04:04PM
gmh39