Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

cooling fan Gcode operated on sanga Posible?

Posted by Weedz 
cooling fan Gcode operated on sanga Posible?
July 08, 2012 05:57PM
Hi all

Let me first say that i researched this quite a bit but never found a clear anser about it. only bits and peaces who dont really fit together. I was hoping to find a how2 but its probably not there or im just too stupid to find it.... (clearly not hoping that last option)

i know its possible to operate a cooling fan to a sanga1.3 but how?, im not really a noob but im not a expert. so i hope i will find a solution here with some help from you guys(/girls?).

I know i have to use a relay kinda switch but i dont know how to connect it to what pin and how to get that certain pin to work for fan operation. I found a topic about a guy operating his fan on the bedheater connections, but i use that for my heatbed.

so:
- to what pin do i have to connect the mesfet for fan operation.
-how can i find that pin on the sanga board
-how can i set this pin to work in the firmware so it will actually operate my fan?

im kinda affraid to short circuit something without the right knowledge.....
so is there anyone who can help me and maybe we can put together somekind of document easy to find, so other people can benefit of this...

tnx in advance
Weedz
Re: cooling fan Gcode operated on sanga Posible?
July 08, 2012 06:18PM
According to the schematic (http://reprap.org/mediawiki/images/f/f5/Sanguinololu_1.3a.png), I don't think it has a provision for fan. Look at the MOSFETs section, there are only two sets, but we need one more.

If the fan is for cooling the extruder, prehaps you could tie the Fan to the Extruder output in parallel, so whenever the Extruder is on the Fan is on. =)
July 08, 2012 06:36PM
but isnt there a way for the other pins that are on the Sanga to provide a on/off switch for fan operation?