Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3D Printing for Science

Posted by lcm 
lcm
3D Printing for Science
July 13, 2012 08:18AM
Hi,

By way of introductions, I am a DPhil research student in Condensed Matter Physics at Oxford. Our research group focusses on the fabrication of novel quantum materials by various methods using ulta-high vacuum. As part of this it is often necessary to design and make custom parts for the experiments we wish to run and so it seems 3D printing may be a good way forward in terms of fast prototyping parts for the experiments.

So I'm seeking two things really: 1) does anyone have experience in using 3D printing in a scientific environment? I was wondering for instance about trying to print 3D crystal structures for the purposes of teaching etc. 2) Are there any recommendations regarding a good machine to start with as a test?

Having read around the Wiki pages a bit, it seems that the Prusa may be a good model to start with, for which I would need some printed 3D parts.

Thanks!

P.S. Should anyone be interested in what it is we do the group's web page is here.
Re: 3D Printing for Science
July 13, 2012 10:13AM
If you are not interested in the challenge of building a 3D Printer your best bet is to buy a pre-assembled and tested printer from a member or one of the many people out there that sell their own custom builds.

Prusa has been refined (Mendel90, MendelMax, etc) due to the difficulties in ensuring that parts are lined up properly among other reasons.