Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

choosing my first printer

Posted by nightmare0 
choosing my first printer
March 19, 2015 01:29PM
Hello

I would like to ask you if you could help me with choosing my first 3d printer.

I know a little of programming in C. I work in injection moulding company, so I have access to a lot of useful stuff. And I have a lot of experience with plastic. I also had knowledge with electronics ( I am modding gaming consoles as my second job in free time)

I had never worked with 3d printer before. So I think, that best option for beginner, would be to buy a complete kit. To eliminate building problems.

My budget for printer is about 400 USD. in future I would like to start improve my printer, as soon I learn anything. I know I could save some money and buy some more expensive printer. But that's not for me. I want this as hobby not some professional use.

I was checking some cheap printers like Geeetech. It has acrylic frame. In future I can buy or make better frame. I was looking for some reviews but I couldn't find any useful. I don't know how relevant are ratings from eBay/aliexpress.

Do somebody has real experience with this printer or know something about them? Or do you know some other printer with better quality And similar price?
Do you think it is good idea to start with cheap China printer and start upgrading or start with something better?

I don't know what should I expect from this China printer compared to some better printer. I would appreciate any opinion or advice to start with.

Thank you
Re: choosing my first printer
March 19, 2015 01:52PM
March 19, 2015 01:54PM
Hello,

I am having the same questions as you. after reading and youtubing and questioning.

I would say: stay away from Geeetech, I haven't seen ONE good comment from them, and everything seem to be a issue!

Now, a good start is to know the size you are looking to print.