Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

electronics

Posted by dave584 
electronics
July 20, 2012 07:45PM
What is the recommended electronics for building a mendelmax printer.
Its quite confusing there are so many to choose from. built they vary a bit in price. The gen4 kit on ebay is 154 GBP
(270USD). Sanguinololu seems bit cheaper about 80 pounds. Gen 7 about 90 pounds. printrboard 80 gbp
What are the advantages of the different options?

Generation 7 Electronics v1.31
ramps
printrboard
Sanguinololu
gen4

I have done a bit of soldering but I am not an expert in electronics, is it worth having a go at putting a board together myself?
Do I need Opto EndStops? I bought some mechanical endstops, are these also required?
With the gen7 there is also an option for built with pololus. Do I need pololus?

Thanks!
Re: electronics
July 20, 2012 08:47PM
Out of those options I recommend the Sanguinololu. It is a nice, compact, and inexpensive solution. I would no recommend anything with built-in stepper drivers, since if you kill one you have to replace the whole board instead of a $15 USD driver.

RAMPS is excellent and can support two extruders, though it is a bit expensive.

gen4 (MakerBot electronics) is far too expensive IMHO.

Help improve the RepRap wiki!
Just click "Edit" in the top-right corner of the page and start typing.
Anyone can edit the wiki!
July 21, 2012 04:03AM

Generation 7 Electronics v1.31

Gen7 v1.3.1 is old, the current version is v1.4. It costs:

PCB, including developer support: GBP 11.30
Components, including ATmega 1284P: GPB 15.20
Connectors: GPB 12.45
4x Pololus/StepSticks: 4x GPB 6.50 = GPB 26.-
USB-TTL adapter: GPB 3.-

Total: GPB 67.95, all prices including value-added tax.

Generation 7 Electronics Teacup Firmware RepRap DIY

July 21, 2012 04:11AM

Do I need Opto EndStops?