Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Testing gen.6d electronics

Posted by Bjtieman 
Testing gen.6d electronics
September 15, 2012 01:14PM
I have a gen.6d board from a romscraj prusa kit. I bought the kit second hand off ebay and suspected the seller didn't know what they were doing and were bailing. I suspected problems like this, but the price was good and I have some experience/knowledge in industrial control systems and softwares. I've never dealt specifically with an arduino and am still in the "figuring out what I have" stage.

Upon receipt, the power supply was dead. The transformer box lights up and its fan starts, but I measure no output voltage. The output leads read a short. I've since hooked up a bench supply to the board and I get two red LEDs to come on, the machanical switch boards have LEDs that come on when the switches are pressed and Windows finds the board and assigns it a COM port. My assumption is the power supply was dead on arrival for the previous owner and, not knowing any better, he was fire saleing it. I can't come up with a failure mode catastrophic enough to short out the supply but leave the board somewhat functional...but, one never knows...

I've compiled the firmware OK but when I go to upload it with Arduino 022, I get an "Uploading to I/O Board..." message and then nothing. After many minutes, I get timeout errors. Usually after this I have to power cycle the board because further attempts to talk to the com port result in "in use" errors. When connected, the arduino serial monitor returns gobblety-gook--like the port settings are wrong, but I don't know what they should be. What I've tried so far hasn't done anything but change the gobblety-gook I get in response. But this does indicate to me that *some* form of communication is happening.