Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RAMBo with LCD and click encoder?

Posted by crispy1 
RAMBo with LCD and click encoder?
November 06, 2012 11:08AM
Has anyone wired a RAMBo board up with a 2 line LCD and a click encoder? I haven't found any documentation on if this is possible, and if it is, where everything would plug into.
Re: RAMBo with LCD and click encoder?
November 07, 2012 08:41AM
I have been wanting to do this too but I don't think many people are using RAMBo yet so this has not been tried. I asked the guy who sells the PanelMAX kits on ebay but he wasn't willing to help. I think it will connect to the ext2 pins on RAMBo but don't know which ones. I'm not an Arduino expert so firmware modifications/RAMBo pins from the wiki are somewhat cryptic. Anyone willing to help here?
November 07, 2012 05:46PM
I'm assuming RAMbo is the RAMPS spinoff from Ultimachine? I haven't been keeping up, but if this is the case, you can look at two alternatives that I am familiar with.

The first is the Adafruit RGB LCD Shield. It does not have a click rotary encoder, but it does have five buttons, and an LCD display with 2x16 characters. It uses the i2c protocol for all of its communications, so only +5, GND, SDA, and SCL are needed to get it going.

The second is CTRLpanel (name subject to change) from Panucatt.com. It's not yet available, but very very soon. It is Adafruit compatible, plus a rotary encoder with five click positions (up, down, left, right, center, CCW, CW), and SD-Card reader, using the the SPI bus.

The latest repetier firmware has built-in support for both of these. Marlin also has support, thanks to Lincomatic (he also did the early work on repetier support). I don't know if the changes have made it into the main branch of Marlin yet.
November 07, 2012 09:12PM