Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Alignment issues

Posted by simono71 
Alignment issues
December 15, 2012 02:23PM
Hi,
I have got my Reprap Mendel MAX up and runing. It has bottom mounted motors and uses Ramps1.4 with marlin firmware.

Now that I have some experience I am trying to tune my machine to improve my print quality. I recently changed out my printed z couplers for flexible aluminum couplers hoping that would improve quality.

What I am noticing is that my layers are shifting on my prints at a frequency that basically matches the pitch of the lead screws. In other words I have essentially a silhouette that for all intents and purposes mirrors the 8mm pitch on the lead screw. It appears it is following the line of the screw thread if that makes any sense?

Does anyone know how I can correct this, as I am not really sure what to do here.

Thanks for any help
Re: Alignment issues
December 16, 2012 05:01AM
Hi Simono, people call this problem Z wobble. And there will be 100's of cases on the internet (thingiverse, g-groups etc.)
I suggest googling 'Z wobble, Mendelmax' through the mentioned sites and see what solutions others have come up with. I have dealt with this in the past by moving to smaller threaded rods, but you probably have Acme rods and may want to continue using them.

Good luck!
December 16, 2012 06:51AM
it sounds like your z axis motion is wobbly. normally this can be dampened out by the bushings along the rods that guide z axis. you may need to replace those, or increase stiffness to those bushings, or use the old printed couplers you had before. also be sure the motor alignment to the z threaded rods are aligned and the motor is not forced to compensate when the threaded rods turn. if the threaded rods on your z axis are acme and are precision, then the issue may be from your motor alignment. best of luck!
December 16, 2012 01:45PM