Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Maker Bot 2 verses building a Reprap machine

Posted by Ukrobotman 
Maker Bot 2 verses building a Reprap machine
February 01, 2013 05:50PM
I planned to buy one of the new Maker Bot 2 machines this month but I am undecided.
Maker bot claim a 100 microns best resolution which sounds good. It's still an £1800 investment.
Can I build a reprap machine that give me as high a resolution or better?
I'm still a bit new to this, building a machine is no problem for me, I'd love to spend less than £1000 though
Can I get good resolution models from a home built machine.
Regards Steve
Re: Maker Bot 2 verses building a Reprap machine
February 01, 2013 06:17PM
I built a prusa i2 for £500 and it can do 0.1mm without a problem at all.
February 01, 2013 06:19PM
Yes, You can match or beat the MakerBot 2 resolution By building your own. But your cost will go up to meet the requirement. Also you will need to do a lot of tweaking. With the Makerbot 2 you get that resolution quickly out of the box, building your own reprap make take several weeks to get the correct resolution.
February 01, 2013 06:28PM
I think other than cost, your main choice should be:

Do you want to print things, or have a hobby?

if you want a hobby build a reprap, they are never finished and will always be evolving. I think i spend as much time tinkering as i do printing, but i like that.

if you want to print things, but a makerbot, set it up and that is more or less that.
February 01, 2013 06:59PM
Here's my take on it.

If you ask us, we're almost to a person going to tell you to build a reprap. A basic Prusa can do everything a Replicator 2 can and more (with the right tool head you can print more than just plastic). Will it have the same accuracy/precision as a Replicator 2? Probably not as a Prusa isn't the best machine out there. But there are reprap machines that can definitely compete with and *beat* a Replicator 2.