Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Choosing which filetype to use ? STL or AOI ? or OTHER?

Posted by RocketMan2013 
Choosing which filetype to use ? STL or AOI ? or OTHER?
February 23, 2013 07:15AM
Hey guys, Im just getting into this whole Rep Rap project but need a little advice. Before i start my rep rap i would like to know which filetype is most user friendly and editable! I would like to take the Prusa Mendel model files and create 2D drawings of them with dimensions. This is for my own use as In time i hope to reproduce the Prusa Mendel printable parts out of cast alloy. Ok i realise this goes against the self replicationg theme but its one i would like to explore none the less but I will need the parts dimensions before i can do this ! So what I need to know is What filetype will contain the actual dimensions for the parts. Im guessing they all do ! Second what software will allow me to read and edit the filetype in question and third will the choosen software package allow 2d prints of the 3d object like viewports in autocad ! or do i need to redo each model in a seperate 2d cad package ? Finally can SketchUp read any of the filetypes currently in use ?

OK I know thats a lot of questions but im very new to this area and have only just begun my own research which progresses as normal ! ie when time and the wife allow grinning smiley
Re: Choosing which filetype to use ? STL or AOI ? or OTHER?
February 23, 2013 08:42AM
There are several parts to the equation

In general, One designs in cad, then exports to a file format suitable for path generation, whose output is sent to a final program which is used to control the printing operation.

In terms of what one uses to design a part, that's dictated solely by the choices you make and can afford. Some use free programs like Sketchup, Autocad123 (or whatever they're calling it now), Blender, OpenScad, FreeCad, etc., while others opt for purchased programs like SolidWorks, Autocad, Alibre, etc.