Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

problems with printing quality - two cooling fans?

Posted by PrintRind 
problems with printing quality - two cooling fans?
May 01, 2013 05:12PM
Hi,

I am quite new in the printing business and about to calibrate my Mendel Prusa.
I use a Wades Extruder 0.5mm nozzle with 3mm PLA filament, Slic3r for generating G-code.
So far I printed with layer heights of 0.4mm or 0.3mm.

I tried to follow the calibrations steps on:
[reprap.org]
but have troubles getting the things nicely printed.

The filled box became resonably nice, but the problems started with the thin wall object (see attached photo).
The problem seems to be that the fresh PLA layers are put down on other layers which are still too hot and soft.
Hence I installed a 40mm fan continuously cooling the nozzle, with the result that the wall facing towards the fan is nicely printed (therefore confirming my suspect that it had to do with the temperature). However, the other walls are still quite messy and warped. Also lowering the extruder temp doesn't help a lot. I am printing at 175°C at the moment (the bed is at 60°C) I don't dare going much below that.

Also, the 50mm-tower comes out not very nice (see pic), altough much better than without fan (then it was just a blob of plastic)

The hollow box (again see pic) as bridging test is typically a complete mess (the photo is my very best result :-) ), fiddling with the Slic3r settings for bridging didn't give any improvements. (Though I read another thread on the Forum saying that Slic3r is generally not quite good for bridgings, which might be another reason(?))

Finally, I attached another pic of a recent failure. There, the thin wall seperating a 8mm hole from the surface broke open. Again I suspect that it has to do with temperature problems.