Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New project

Posted by Johnnymoto 
New project
May 01, 2013 05:34PM
Hello,

I'm new in the 3d printing world, so a little introduce:
My name is John and i'm from The Netherlands. In the daytime i'm an cad/cam engineer, as a hobby i design an build two stroke engines for supermoto use. Everything will be first designed in SolidWorks and than machined at the factory. But to add an extra step in the progress i want to start with rapid prototyping.
The plan is to make an custom frame with high accurate liniar guide. Thats not the problem, but the electrical stuff is. I do not have allot of experience with that kind of work!

I don't know if this is the right spot for this project in this forum, but i have some questions. I already read allot of info on the 3d printing sites but don't have accurate answers. Like what are the best steppenmotors, software ....

The budget for this project is about €750 for the eletrical components and the software.

So i hope someone could give me some info too start with. The plan is too start with deciding what components i will start. Then designing the complete printer in Solidworks, and then machine all the needed parts.

I putt a picture with it , this is an special clutch designed for an cr500 based engine.

Already thanks for the information!!

John
Attachments:
open | download - image.jpg (115.6 KB)
Re: New project
May 01, 2013 06:45PM
Hi John
I'm pretty new to it as well. I've built 3 ORD-Bot Hadrons that I use RAMPS boards. They work very well with 1.2 or 1.7 amp nema 17 motors. I bought my motors and RAMPS from ebay

motors
[www.ebay.com]

RAMPS
[www.ebay.com]

It is very simple to load the RAMPS boards with marlin and configure. I'm not very good with computers and I did it so I know it is easy if you follow the instructions.
I have less than $600 US in each of my printers.

Rodney
May 01, 2013 07:23PM