Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Questions re: McWire Cartesian & the Ardunio Hardware w/ different nc programs

Posted by Anonymous User 
in the process of making a mix between the McWire Cartesian Bot v1.2 and the actual McWire from instructables and had a couple questions.

i have been learning solidworks (student version) and want to start to learn cam. i have access to industrial machine equipment (although out of state and only ask my buddy to make stuff that i really need as i they are very busy so i keep it to a minimun and let the machines make them $$$$). so please, bear w/ me as i am a newb in the actual machine arena.

- this will be more of a router/micro mill and not the machines that i mostly see on here but it looks like a lot of the same basic ideas, so i hope they convert over easily

- would there be any issue using ~.250" thick (~6.37mm) aluminum for the stages/tables? is this too thick? all i need to do is make them into solidworks files (in the process of doing that now) and i can have them made and threaded or is there a reason to go w/ a form of plexi/acrylic? my main reason for this is i can get the Al for probably cheaper than any type of plexi since it would be scrap from my buddies shop

- for a break-out-board, i would like to go the usb route like the controller you guys use. does it work w/ kcam and/or mach3 software? if so is there any tutorials? i currently have some smaller nema17 bipolar steppers that would suffce for the work i am wanting to do and would probably go 24V for the psu, but that is on my end.

this is a way for me to see the cam and actual cnc portion of designing right here on my desk and learning a lot. getting back into electronics after being out of it for 10-15yrs and these driver/controller kits look like a good way >grinning smiley<

thanks for any guidance,
bob
sid
Re: Questions re: McWire Cartesian & the Ardunio Hardware w/ different nc programs
January 18, 2009 04:10AM
Hi Bob,