Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

new 3D printer i'm going to follow from velleman

Posted by possenier 
new 3D printer i'm going to follow from velleman
June 03, 2013 03:08PM
i have no idea who on here knows velleman, it's a small belgian company that makes "do it yourself" electronics kits.
they are located only a few km from where i live, and i've been building kits from them for close to 30 years now.

anyway, it seems they have come in the reprap 3D print market, and i think they can be a big help for us, since their products are mostly good thing, with a very good manual at a correct price.
they will sell this printer a 699€ tax included and that seems like a very correct price.
there are some strange things on there design, but it looks like they thought it true and that it could work good.

[www.k8200.eu]

so, what do you think?
i have no idea if it will be open hardware and so, but i think it will be since they give you the electronic diagram of everything they make.
Re: new 3D printer i'm going to follow from velleman
June 03, 2013 03:40PM
Hm, the guys in the 3D printing subreddit don't seem to be over the moon about this one: link to the thread
June 03, 2013 05:12PM
Why not, everyone else is jumping on the band wagon, the velleman kits I have built use good componants and the boards are first class, I must admit i never expected velleman to jump in, but they are a respected company at least, who next?.

Random Precision
June 03, 2013 05:23PM
I have seen one, it looks like they have a lot of parts just copied from RepRap... Even the gear on the hobbed bolt has holes in it, like the one I have.
June 04, 2013 01:18AM
they use a sanguino board, and reprap software, and even mention reprap in the description.
so i assume a lot of the guys who will build this, will also use it to the build repraps.
i see it as a very good reprap promoting tool.

velleman is well known in technical schools, so it's a great tool for schools to start with 3D.