Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Unheated build surface for ABS

Posted by LoboCNC 
Unheated build surface for ABS
June 03, 2013 09:53PM
I've been experimenting with different unheated build surfaces for printing ABS. HDU foam works quite well, but unless you have a pretty thick piece, the top surface shrinks and causes the foam to warp when you print on it. The higher density foam is also rather expensive. I've now tried a few prints on 1/32" thick phenolic (McMaster XX grade). I've sanded the surface to expose some of the paper core fibers and then coated it with a film of ABS juice. Prints seem to stick pretty well and come off cleanly with the help of a razor blade. The phenolic sheet I'm using is thin enough that you can flex it and peel off a part once you get an edge liberated.

Has anyone else tried this? I'm quite new to 3D printing and am wondering what kind of trouble I'm liable to run into using this approach. I'm really hoping I can avoid an heated build platform.

-Jeff
Re: Unheated build surface for ABS
June 03, 2013 10:01PM
thick acrilic sheets, slow printing with abs, and raft support are how we use to do it before heated beds. if you want an easy way out that does not cause your setup to be pricy, then invest in a heat lap. place it about 1 foot or so away from the bed.

here is one link to the subject here:
[en.wikipedia.org]

One thing is for sure. its been all done before.....
June 03, 2013 11:56PM
Thanks for the old-school wisdom.

How much of the job of the heated bed is for keeping the part stuck down, and how much is for combating other sorts of warping and distortions? In otherwords, If I can keep parts stuck down without any heat, how much do I have to worry about other problems like delamination as the rest of the part cools? Mostly, I'm trying to understand what all the issues are.

Worst case, though, it sounds like I can just use a heat lamp...
June 04, 2013 02:47AM