Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

nwreprap.org or mixshop.com for Prusa Mendel i2 kit

Posted by san 
san
nwreprap.org or mixshop.com for Prusa Mendel i2 kit
July 09, 2013 01:11AM
Hello Reprapers,

I am new to the reprap community and would like to build my first Prusa Mendel i2 printer. Everyone is recommending buying a kit online. I made my research to buy a kit and found that nwreprap.org offers a kit for $799 ! while mixshop.com offers the kit (without the plastic parts) for $439

the mixshop offers the kit for almost half the price of newreprap !!

I need your help clarify why there is a huge difference in the price while offering the same thing ( if they offer the same thing).

does nwreprap have more stuff in the kit while mixshop is missing stuff? or its just a quality thing?

thanks

san
Re: nwreprap.org or mixshop.com for Prusa Mendel i2 kit
July 09, 2013 01:24AM
i dont know about the nwreprap.org,

i have used mixshop in the past, and for the stuff i have got from them it has been passable, not bad, but it always seems to be for a dollar. but they have always got me what i ordered and what i needed.

i would try mixshop, if i needed to save the money, but it all depends on how much you want to spend,

depending on what city you are in think of trying to find a local hackerspace.?

[mike-mack.blogspot.com]
san
July 09, 2013 01:40AM
im in canada and there is no local hackerspace around here

I took a look at the nwreprap.org and they give pretty detailed list of the stuff they provide. here is the link to the list [nwreprap.com]

Here's a comprehensive list of what's included in this kit:

Fully Assembled Electronics
Ramps 1.4
Arduino Mega 2560
Pololu Stepper Drivers
Heatsinks and Thermal Adhesive
5 NEMA 17 Stepper Motors (5.5KG-CM)
J-Head Hot End (0.5mm 3mm)
[new] J-Head Aluminum Mounting Plate
[new] 30mm 12v Fan
2 GT2 Timing Belts
2 GT2 Aluminum 16-20 tooth Pulleys (5mm bore)
MK1 PCB Heat Bed
Tempered Glass Print Bed
12 LM8UU Linear Bearings