Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help and Advice running Reprap in University lab

Posted by gnomadix 
Help and Advice running Reprap in University lab
October 21, 2013 07:43AM
Dear All

I work as an IT technician at an art school and have been pushing for the use of Reprap and
FFF machines in the school

Eventually the college have given some small recognition and resources for it and I having a
meeting tomorrow to discuss the wider plans.

It would be extremely helpful if there are other Technicians /RP people working in labs who could
give me any general ideas of the type of layouts they work with:

kind of machines used (FFF SLP etc)
mix with other technologies and workshop layout ie workshop machines, scanners ,cnc etc
support levels and level of user access
are there Reprap user groups on site

This info would really help me and other techs to start to build plans
to make 3D printing more accessible and get people building more Repraps

Many Thanks

Simon
A2
Re: Help and Advice running Reprap in University lab
October 21, 2013 08:19AM
Contact Dr. Pearce at Michigan Tech.

We are particulary interested in students that either
1) have experience in research on solar PV or
2) have experience in open source hardware/RepRap technology.

[www.mse.mtu.edu]

[www.mtu.edu]
October 21, 2013 05:17PM
Hello Simon,
I am in a very similar situation: as a tutor in a workshop of an art school, I helped students to build ten Mendel90's last year. These machines were supposed to be distributed across art school for the classes to use, but seemingly most of them fell into disuse. A lot of the students didn't seem to care about them after the initial rush and excitement.
Tomorrow, just like you (strange coincidence, lol), we will have a meeting for general maintenance and to redistribute the printers.