Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What is the purpose of an extruder fan?

Posted by rcullan 
What is the purpose of an extruder fan?
October 22, 2013 05:53PM
Hey everyone,
So I am new to 3D printing. I bought a solidoodle and have been working with it for a few months. I am now in the process of building a MendelMax 1.5 and have a question about the extruder fans. My solidoodle only has one heat synced to the extruder motor, but I have seen tons and tons of variants where the fans are blowing right at the nozzle in various forms. To me this seems counter intuitive, blowing a fan onto something your trying to keep hot.

So can someone explain what the purpose of this is? Is it to keep the extruder motor cool? To cool the recently extruded ABS? To keep any ABS parts near the extruder from melting? All of the above?

I'm just looking to understand the function of having a fan blowing right at my nozzle and where I am working. Thanks!

- Ryan
Re: What is the purpose of an extruder fan?
October 22, 2013 06:16PM
if your printing with PLA you need a fan on the insulator and some put it on the part to cool the layers faster too. Some also think a fan is good for ABS too .
October 22, 2013 06:34PM
I addition to the use with PLA, for All Metal Hot Ends, the fan is essential, to keep the thermal isolator cool, so that the filament only melts in the end of the extruder.
I mistakenly turned off my extruder fan on my All Metal Hot End, and the result is that the motlen plastic ends up filling inside the thermal isolator until it comes out the top, at which point it solidifies and causes a jam.

BTW. AFIK You can have an additional fan that blows down onto the print bed, that is controlled by the RAMPS board, separately from the extruder fan. This gets programmed into the GCODE and is turned on e.g. when each layer has finished printing. (to solidify it)
October 22, 2013 09:31PM
Thanks guys.

Seems more imperative for PLA rather than ABS then?