Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ebay stepper motors ?

Posted by Jerms.a320 
Ebay stepper motors ?
January 05, 2014 08:42AM
I found a set of 5 stepper motors here, I am a complete noob and I am not to sure if I should buy - is 0.4NM-1 a lot of torque . I also noticed they are only 1.2A max - that is quite low and would mean they would generate a lot of heat ?

but what concerned me most of all was that the motor cords are dis-connectable (all of the other reprap stepper motors that I have seen have the cords attached - see the link) but more importantly the motor was only 40mm deep compared to the 47mm depth listed in the BOM in the wiki (I am planning on building a Mendel90).

Any advice on stepper motors would be great (should I buy a more powerful motor for the extruder ?)

thanks so much , in advance smiling smiley

Jeremy
Re: Ebay stepper motors ?
January 05, 2014 12:42PM
The motors you're looking at are mid-range. The shorter motors (34mm) are typically have ~30 oz-in holding torque, the 40mm ones (like yours) are ~50 oz-in and the longer 47mm ones are ~70 oz-in. The separable cable is a nice feature which makes assembly and disassembly of your printer easier. The current of 1.2A doesn't mean anything by itself - other than that's the max. current your drivers will have to put out. In this regard, lower current means that your driver chips won't generate as much heat. Unless you are building a really large printer or are really wanting to push your accelerations, these motors should be OK. As for the extruder, if you are using a Wade's or other type of geared extruder, they should be fine. They may be a little small, though, for a direct drive extruder unless you are using a pretty small diameter filament drive wheel. I've used this size motor successfully with a 7mm dia drive wheel, but I wouldn't want to use it with a 10mm dia drive wheel.