Time Sensitive Question about Morgan/Lilian & Other Starter Questions
April 04, 2014 01:16AM
I first want to say that these aren't complete Newbie Question as I did read the Post that you should read before you post.

Situation:

On Arduino day 3D Hubs had post a promotional code giving credit to users. This Promotional Code, which gives me $15, expires on April 11th. I want to use it to start Printing Morgan parts but first I need to get some answer about Repraps and 3D printers in General. I apologize for not doing as much research as I probably should have but I'm currently trying to pass the Certified Public Account (CPA) Exams. This alone is a challenging endeavor which takes up all of my time except for the 2 hours a week I allow myself to relax and do this along with other arduino projects.

Morgan Specific Question:
  1. Does the Morgan use ABS or PLA or can I buy parts to customize this printer how ever I see fit with ease?
  2. How hard is it to modify if I wanted to try clay, Wax or some other kind of printing?
  3. Is there a Recommended order I should print the parts out in so I can work on it as the parts come in?
  4. In the Wiki I see that heating bed is 200mm X 200mm but how tall is it?
  5. Is the calibration process challenging? What is the average time for the whole Calibration process? Hours? Days? Weeks?
  6. Does this model, the Morgan, require a Specific Gcode generator, Host Software and Firmware? Are there ones that come recommended for Beginners and Experts?

3D Printing Question in General
  1. What is the average price per volume to have parts printed in PLA? ABS?
  2. Are the CAM tools something I will have to learn how to use or could an 8 year old use them?
  3. What has been everyone's experience with the learning curve on Building, Troubleshooting, Repair and Printing with your Repraps?
  4. Are parts are typically upgraded after your 1st Build? If so what normally gets upgrade and What upgrades have higher yields of improvement?