Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

research paper and zcorp printer

Posted by chirdaki 
research paper and zcorp printer
March 01, 2010 01:51AM
Hello all, i have few of things i'd like some help on from the community.

Firstly, at uni we have 2 zcorp printers which i'd like to try printing off mendel parts with. At present they're set for just plaster and a water based fixing agent but there is a type of resin that i could try with, but i'm not sure about its structural integrity. Now, if i can get a full mendel up and running from the zcorp, i can print several sets each week. I'll be testing it extensively first, and our lab guy is very good, but I don't know what the outcome will be yet.

Has anyone attempted using a 3d powder printer? What were the results with plaster and epoxy? Was there something else that worked better?

In terms of tesing, being an engineer I'd like to take the weakest bit and see what it can take but i don't know which bit. Is there an FEA for the mendel that anyone's done than we can use as a starting point? (As a total aside but related to the FEA, has anyone thought of doing a structural optimisation of the pieces to try and reduce build volume?) Is there a piece that is highly prone to failure on the mendel?

Finally, by the end of the year I need to have written a research paper. I have a lecturer who's very interested in this as a project but i need to find some way to tie it to civil engineering. It could be maybe looking into modular design or emergency housing applications, as in including a printer so you don't have to have all the door handles and light sockets etc. Its really quite broad but it needs to be research, and in civil, not mechanical engineering. I'll likely be doing the lit review mid-year and the final paper at the end, so the results will be a while coming. Ideas are welcomed please!

Thanks, Andy.
Re: research paper and zcorp printer
March 03, 2010 01:40PM