Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to all this, many questions!

Posted by Silman 
New to all this, many questions!
July 01, 2014 01:17PM
Hello all!

I am a student working towards a Physics degree (with an emphasis in electrical engineering and minor in computer science). I have been wanting to build a 3D printer for a long time but I don't have much experience in building anything really. The kits that have been sold for other 3D printers are expensive. RepRap seems like a good way to get into the world of 3D/CNC machines but I have so many questions.

Firstly, how much is the average RepRap? I know it varies a lot depending on your needs, but how much did yours cost you? And how big of a piece can you create? I am looking to use this machine to print pieces for other projects and I would (obviously) like to get the maximum possibility out of it. I also want it to be precise when making objects, i saw this video which really turned me off to 3D printing, as you can see the teeth on his gears are pretty warped and inaccurate.

What kind of material is used to create pieces? I always see this long tube of resin-like material, but what do most RepRaps use and how is it applied? What device do you have to mount onto the gantry system to lay down the material?

What kind of software do you use to print and how does the computer know how to control the RepRap? Obviously you can't just plug the thing into your computer and expect it to work, is there some sort of standardized firmware that most people use to configure and calibrate the device to be used with your software? And what software is capable of printing 3D pieces? I have seen (and very briefly) worked with software such as SolidWorks and AutoCad Inventor, but i have never seen someone print directly from there. I feel that the proprietary file types makes it hard to print these pieces.