Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printer data gathering, please helpspinning smiley sticking its tongue out

Posted by caracus 
Printer data gathering, please helpspinning smiley sticking its tongue out
July 28, 2014 10:17AM
Hello,

I am curious about how much torque the motors of a 3d printer actually need. I would like to get data from different printers and motors. I do not own a printer nor do I have a mastery of electrical engineering.

I want to measure current, voltage, resistance of a motor over time. Maybe while printing so standard shape like an 1x1x1"octopus.

My hunch is that most printers have overpowered motors. If I can show this, future designers can use less powerful motors to save costs and improve performance in cases where the motor powerful motor is being moved by another motor (extruder).

What do I need to measure?
How can this be easily measured by anyone with an arduino and 3d printer?
Would you like to volunteer by measuring your printer?

Thank you all.
Re: Printer data gathering, please helpspinning smiley sticking its tongue out
July 29, 2014 10:59AM
"An efficient motor, defined as the smallest motor sufficient to meet the demands of the application, will run hot."